Can you use CellProfiler to analyze whole tissue samples + 6-color images?

module
loadimages

I have done fluorescent IHC on whole lymph node sections and stained them for 6 different markers. The images I have collected are saved in TIF format but when I open each image, it is saved in 6 channels. I’m not sure how I would upload the images to CellProfiler for analysis. Also, is this software ok to use for images that are between 90-200 MB? Lastly, would anyone be willing to give some suggestions for modules to use for analysis of the various cell types I have stained for? (CD8, CD4, CD11c, CD19, LYVE-1, and CD31)

Below I have attached a link for an image I’ve taken. The file will say that its big but it’s just because there are technically 6 different images of the same sample.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3VQHz56xnNuNjdmZkdla3oxNEE/view?usp=sharing

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I have never done image analysis before. Thank You!

I’m not sure how I would upload the images to CellProfiler for analysis.

CellProfiler can easily open multichannel images, simply tell CP in NamesAndTypes that it’s a “Color” image (since it’s >1 channel, then add the ColorToGrey module with the settings “Split” by “Channel” as the first module of your pipeline. That should easily split your image into as many channels as you need.

Also, is this software ok to use for images that are between 90-200 MB?

That will entirely depend on the computer you’re working with. Even if it does work, it’ll be slow, so I’d recommend cropping out a few smaller representative areas of your image to try developing your pipeline on before running it on the whole image.