Cell Paint: Rules file from CPA and FlagImage module of CP

Hello all,
I am a student of the master’s course in Japan.
I cannot figure out how to generate rules file as text format by CPA for applying it to FlagImage module of CP.

I am trying to do Cell Paint assay referring to [Bray et al. Nat. Proc. 2016] and [Bray et al. J. of Biomol. Screening, 2012].
Now, I have a question about quality control, especially FlagImage module.
I cannot figure out how to generate rules file as text format by CPA for applying FlagImage module of CP.
I would like to eliminate saturated or blurry images from my images.
I can generate property files with the quality control pipeline provided in [Bray et al. Nat. Proc. 2016] .
Also, I can classify images with Classifier of CPA, and evaluate blurry threshold from histograms visually.

Would anyone give me some advice?

Once you have rules from your classification (using FastGentleBoosting as your classifier is easiest for this, as it’s the only module that returns rules instead of features), you can go to “Edit rules” in the Classifier -> Advanced menu, then select and copy them all into a text file. You can then use FlagImage’s “Rules” setting and upload that text file.

Does that make more sense?

Hi bcimini,

Thank you for your quick response!
Yes, I read this topic (I cannot find rules in CPA).

I can get the text file in which rules are written like
"IF (Nuclei_RadialDistribution_FracAtD_Hoechst_2of4 > 0.34689900000000001, [0.76363739159785271, -0.76363739159785271], [-0.99999997849088318, 0.99999997849088318])".
I have uploaded the rule file.rules.txt (720 Bytes)

Then, I receive the error ‘The rules describe objects instead of images’ from FlagImage module.
So, I am confused.

I think FlagImage module uses tags (0 or 1, pass the threshold or not) for each image.
But, the rules file contains rules for not images but objects like nuclei.

I am sorry for my insufficient explanation for 1st posting.