CP 2 and 3 simultaneously on Ubuntu

Is there a simple way to pip install CP 2 and then 3 for a single user? I’d like both versions to be available simultaneously.

Either of the versions works fine individually. I do:
git clone https://github.com/CellProfiler/CellProfiler.git

And then
git checkout 2.2.0

git checkout master

for CP2 or 3, respectively.

pip install --user --editable .
in CellProfiler directory.

Hi Maciej!

Do you get problems when installing them both simultaneously?

I did not check recently if the prerequisites diverged between CP2 and CP3, and that could cause problems. I did not have problems in the past with a developers version of CP3, but maybe things changed now. Otherwise they should just work alongside each other.

All the best, Mario

I’m not a Ubuntu expert, but could you use something like Pyenv or Conda to create multiple environments and then just activate the one you need?

Yes, this is how you could solve the prerequisites issue! Or if you want to be a bit drastic, you can use docker to get cleanly separated environments (for example to try different python versions and stuff).

As you can install cellprofiler from source without much trouble in your current setup, following @bcimini’s advice of creating python virtual environments, I think the easiest way to generate two independent environments is to use a lightweight tool like tox. tox also gives you the flexibility of messing around with the source and seeing the immediate changes:

Create a file called tox.ini in the git root directory to tell tox how to create two environments “cp2” and “cp3”:

# tox.ini

whitelist_externals = bash

# On my ubuntu machine, it looks like cellh5 neglects to install its pandas dependency.
deps =
commands = 
    bash die_if_ref_not 2.2.0
    {envpython} setup.py {posargs:install}

usedevelop = True
commands =
    bash die_if_ref_not v3.0.0

In the git root directory, create the die_if_ref_not shell script to sanity check our git branch: