Creating a pipeline to measure neurons

Hi there,
I’m new with CellProfiler. I need some help with the module “Measure Neurons”. I have GFP expressing neurons with no nuclear staining. I want to quantify the total neurite growth over a period of time using time lapse imaging. I created a pipeline to study some pictures of neurons and get the neurite length from the images.
My pipeline is as follows:
EnhanceOrSuppressFeatures - (used to enhance the neurites)
ApplyThreshold - (used to enhance the cell body, such that low GFP expressing cells and the neurites are not detected)
IdentifyPrimaryObjects - (identifies the cell body)
ApplyThreshold - (to create a binary image)
Morph - (used the skel module to generate skeletonized image)
Export to Spreadsheet

Using this pipeline I’m able to generate skeletonized image of the neurons, My problem is that there is still some background in the images generated and not all detected neurites are attached to the cell soma and therefore not detected. How can I overcome this problem and also is it the right way to construct this pipeline. It would be great if you could please help me.

Thank you so much

Best wishes,

Your current pipeline is quite reasonable, but the issues of “not all detected neurites are attached to the cell soma” is kinda hard to solve since these objects are far away from each other.

You may have a look at this topic, hopefully you’ll have some more hints.

It’s probably better if you can provide some example images and your pipeline so we can try to tune it.

Hi Minh,
Thank you for the suggestion, I had a look on this topic and i guess the problem is that all neurites are not attached to the cell soma (because of stringent threshold) and are therefore not detected but I’m not sure. Also if I lower the threshold then both cell soma and neurites are detected as primary objects. It would be really helpful if you can have look at the pipeline and the images and give some suggestions to overcome this problem.