Emulsion polydispersity evaluation

Hello. I’m new to the cellprofiler. Here is my problem.
I am trying to get monodisperse emulsion, so I need to get sizes of many droplets from microscope images. So I tried CellProfiler to streamline this process.
The problem is I can’t make it identify them correctly. They are almost perfectly round circles with dark rims and light insides. IdentifyPrimaryObjects usually finds light insides. This is the main obstacle. I want it to identify them as round circles.
Another problem I don’t understand is working with ExportToSpreadsheet. When I open file with Excel all the data is in one column instead of three, divided by comma. I don’t know how to work with it. I export only MajorAxisLength to get the diameter. If possible I would like get mean value from the set of images and a coefficient of variation.
test.zip (1.48 MB)
test.cp (6.4 KB)

The spreadsheet produced by your pipeline on your images seems to open correctly in Excel on my machine. I suggest trying one of the approaches listed here: excel.tips.net/T003002_CSV_File_ … olumn.html. Let us known if this doesn’t work for you.

Also, would you mind posting the spreadsheet that you are getting from CellProfiler, one that is not opening correctly in Excel?

Thank you for answer!
OK, this spreadsheet. I use Office 2010 on Windows 8.
And the main problem is still identifying droplets. I tried IdentifySecondaryObjects but still didn’t get appropriate results.
DefaultOUT_FilteredRound.csv (5.1 KB)

I’m attaching a pipeline which I think will get your closer to what you want. Your pipeline was definitely pointed in the right correction, so I made the following modifications:

• Some pre-processing to get rid of the background illumination heterogeneity.