hESC screening

Hello!

I am new to this forum, yet I have been using CP for over 2 years, in very basic ways, but recently I had to boost up my skills a bit…
I am optimising a “directed differentiation assay” on human embryonic stem cells (hESC), looking at the capacity of small molecules (of marine origin) to induce cell differentiation. Our marker is a “dim” GFP captured along with an Hoechst channel for the nuclei. Yes, cells are alive.
Because GFP expression occurring with cell differentiation is a “rare” event, I have to acquire 5X5 montages of my wells in the two channels aforementioned, to pick up statistically relevant data.
I use a BD Pathway 855 fitted with 20X NA0.75 obj (Epifluorescence). Each image is ~65Mb! There could also be some problems of alignment, but I haven’t tried addressing them for the moment…
Light sources are of quite poor quality on the BD, and even with flat field reference correction, in some areas of the montage, when I use “CorrectIllumination”, I have background almost as strong as my dimmer cells (see attached images - these have been resized/re-scaled to post them - If you want the biggies on which the pipeline is run, can you explain me how to send them to you).
My first immediate problems at the moment is i/can I and ii/how should I: use CorrectIllumination on this sort of dim montage? or is there any other way I can reliably pick up the GFP cells? I have attached some output of correct illumination and you can see it’s quite heterogeneous; good in most part and terrible in handling background in some other parts. To compensate for the artefacts I pick up, I have put some size filters but they can only do so much
Basically, the output I am after is simply a ratio of GFP cells/total cells (from Hoechst).
As you can see, hESC are not the most sexy looking cells!!!