How to deal with data produced with CellProfiler?

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to CellProfiler but I think I created quite good pipeline for my images from genom-wide RNAi screen.

But the problem is that I am not familiar with programming and this kind of things… so now here comes the question: how to analyse the data in the simplest way? I mean, I saw that I can export them to excel as csv file…but what next? What can I do later with such a file?
I thought at the beginning that the easiest to use will be CellProfiler Analyst but for that I need to export my data to some database? Or I can use csv files in CellProfiller Analyst? If yes, then how can I generate properties file for CPA (when you use database option it is generated itself, right?) But what when I do not want to use database but csv files, how can I get properties file?

Hi Anna,

First of all, congratulations on your pipeline!

“What next” is an excellent question, and really depends on your particular situation. Do you want to extract something super simple like cell count, or something really complicated like a subtle change in cell shape? How comfortable are you (if at all) with tools like Python, MATLab, R, or do you have a colleague or friend who is comfortable with them who can help you out? All of these factor into what your personal best next step should be.