Installing CellProfiler2 on CentOS 6.4 cluster

(I moved this post from general to CPCluster)
Hi,

As a researcher I want to analyze thens of thousands of images using CellProfiler2. For this purpose I am trying to install CellProfiler on our CentOS 6.4 linux cluster using the latest source as provided on github (codeload.github.com/CellProfile … zip/master version 0.2.2). Unfortunately I can not get CellProfiler to build despite reading multiple posts on this forum on building CellProfiler on a Linux cluster and having multiple efforts to do so. A command line interface (CLI) to CellProfiler would be sufficient.

Is there a makefile around to build CellProfiler on CentOS 6.4? If not, where do I start to get this beast running? As I am a user I have no administrator rights on the CentOS 6.4 Linux Cluster. The administrator of the CentOS system is willing to install some basic packages for me if needed, but for now let’s assume I have to use my own home directory to install the sources.

The source I downloaded contains multiple makefiles for different systems. Here I will show the result of multiple makefiles. This is what I have done so far.

Java is installed

$ java -version
java version "1.6.0_24"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.11.13) (rhel-1.65.1.11.13.el6_4-x86_64)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.0-b12, mixed mode)

GCC is installed

$ gcc --version
gcc (GCC) 4.4.7 20120313 (Red Hat 4.4.7-3)
Copyright (C) 2010 Free Software Foundation, Inc.

Makefile.CP2.standard.64

# set variables
PREFIX="$HOME/CellProfiler2"
export JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.6.0-openjdk-1.6.0.0.x86_64
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/hpc/local/CentOS6/dhl_ec/lib:/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.6.0-openjdk-1.6.0.0.x86_64/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/lib64/pkgconfig:/usr/lib64/pkgconfig/glib-2.0.pc:/hpc/local/CentOS6/dhl_ec/lib

# make
# first, the make file (any makefile) gives an error:
# "Could not detect HOSTTYPE variable. Please export HOSTTYPE from"