Measure fiber structures in individual cells

Good afternoon,

I am a very new Cell Profiler user and I was wondering if what I am trying to measure is possible using this program. My goal is to quantify actin stress fibers in cells expressing my protein of interest: this means that in my images only one or two cells would be of interest since they will be expressing the protein I am studying. I am acquiring confocal images and exporting data as multichannel tiff. Is there a way to load the multichannel tiff files in Cellprofiler and maybe it can recognize the different channels? and also can I first find my cells of interest based on the antigen I am looking, which will be in the blue channel, and measure only in this population the actin fibers? Is there a way to recognize this stress fibers as elongated structures? so far I was only able to recognize round objects in my images.

Your help will be really appreciated!!

Have a nice afternoon

Hi Guada,

On the face of it, CelllProfiler should be able to do what you want. But loading multiframe files can be tricky, partly because there are so many formats to account for :smile:

Have you looked at our tutorial on the subject?, under “Loading image stacks and movies”. If that doesn’t help, we can take a look if you’re willing to share an example file. Unfortunately, uploading attachments isn’t working right now, so you may have to use Dropbox or similar to post it.

Hi Mark,

Thank you so much for your fast reply! Sure! I am attaching a dropbox link for one of the images I typically work with: it consists of 2 color channels and is a z-stack from confocal microscope. This is the exported ,tif file but if it is better I also have the raw (.lsm) files. Since the stress fibers I am looking for are visible in one z-position I wonder if I will not have to extract the z-position of interest before analyzing the data? Or if you have any other suggestion it would be great!