Measuring Object Intensity

Hello,

I am quite new to cell profiler. I work with monocyte derived macrophages and I’m trying to compare the expression of pro-inflammatory and anti-inflammatory markers produced by the cells. I stained the cells for the nucleus (DAPI_blue), IL-10 (FITC_green) and TNF-alpha (Rhodamine_red) which are both in the cytoplasm. I created a pipeline to measure object intensity. I use the nucleus as my primary object to located the cells; I have two secondary objects, Cells for TNF signal and Cells 2 for IL-10 signal. However after running my anaylsis, I realized both Cells and Cells 2 measured the green and red object intensities.
I expected Cells to measure the red intensity only while Cells 2 measures green intensity only… Did I do something wrong?
This is my piplepline
trial pipeline 2_integrated.cppipe (24.0 KB)

This is an image set

Thanks for your help.
Didi.

Hello there,

In your current module MeasureObjectIntensity you let dual objects pair with dual channels, it will result in 4 total measurements.

If you expect “Cells to measure the red intensity only while Cells 2 measures green intensity only”, then it should be set in 2 separated modules:

Otherwise, your pipeline looks great.

Bests,
Minh

I get it now!

Thanks so much Minh.

Best wishes,
Didi.

Hi there,
I’m new with CellProfiler. I have 2 channel image: Dapi and a nuclear marker in 488. I need to measure the intensity of the 488 positive object, but at the same time I need to have the value of dapi intensity for each identified object. Is it possibile? I tried with different approaches, but I not had good results. In fact I obtained an intensity of the all dapi objects, that are different compare to the intensity value of dapi object identified in 488 positive cells.

Hi,

Let’s try to work it out together:

• Let’s first identify the nuclei by IdentifyPrimaryObjects, using DAPI channel, let’s call them objects “Nu”, for e.g. we now have 1000 objects “Nu”.