Measuring the length of tight junctions

length
tightjunctions
occludin

Hello,
I am new to CellProfiler and I was hoping that someone could give me some tips on a pipeline that I am working on. I aim to calculate the length of tight junctions in an image. In this particular experiment, the cells were stained for Occludin (a tight junction protein). I started the project but I am having trouble identifying the objects in my image (i.e the threadlike structures). I have attached the project to this post. I look forward to your feedback.

Thanks,

occlengthprep.cpproj (402.3 KB)

Neat! Beautiful images. Can you clarify what length means in this context? From where to where?

Thank you for your swift reply. I am trying to measure the total length of each branch (thread-like structure) in this image (in other words, the combined length of all the white lines in the picture). There is not a specific start and end point. I hope this explanation is clearer. Thanks.

Hi,

Perhaps you could try the following to get a rough estimate for total length without skeletonizing the image:
(1) enhance edge/ridge information such as median filtering to reduce level of noise specks in image (NB this should eliminate the small specks but not large dots shown)
(2) apply thresholding to binarise the image (for automatic global threshold e.g. otsu method)
(3) apply dilation and erosion to reduce branches to single pixel thickness
(4) count the number of pixels above threshold in processed binary image
(5) to estimate length, multiply total count of pixels by spatial dimension of each pixel (assuming dx=dy)

By first applying this approach to a random sample of subimages and comparing the estimates to hand tracing you can then check whether this rough approach will accurate enough for your needs.

Nice!