Problem with IdentifyPrimAutomatic

Hi there,
I am new to using CellProfiler and am tring to use it to count the number of small mitochondria within a cell.
When I run the IdentifyPrimAutomatic module It has a problem where it is splitting mitochondria that are obviously attached.

THe following image is the parameters that I have set up fro IdentifyPrimAutomatic.

Any ideas of what the problem may be and how to solve it would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks for your time
Joe

Hi Joe,

There are several things you can do to approach this issue:

(1) Have you tried modifying the de-clumping parameters? Further down the module, there are two options: “Method to distinguish clumped objects” and “Method to draw dividing lines”. Usually, you want to set the first to either Intensity or Shape, and the second to Intensity or Distance. Both of these affect whether single objects are split apart and if so, how.

(2) Using Test mode. The Help has more info on how the options in (1) work, but one additional useful setting is the very last one, “Do you want to run in test mode…” where the various combinations of the two parameter settings are displayed. Which combination you pick depends on which one gives you the best results.

(3) Smoothing: Whatever you choose for these options, how the de-clumping takes place is also dependant on the amount of smooth applied to the image to remove spurious noise that can impact the results. Under “Size of smoothing filter”, the default is Automatic, but you can set this to whatever value to want (the value determined by Automatic is shown in the module window). Increasing the value will lead to less splitting, but possibly more false negatives, and decreasing it will split more, but with likely more false positives.