RNAscope in Spinal Cord Neurons -> Quantitation of overlap between different In Situ Probes

Hi all,
I’m new to Cell Profiler but i’ve heard many good things. I’m trying to see if Cell Profiler is the right tool to do a very basic but time consuming task.

Basically, I do a lot of in situ hybridization and IHC in spinal cord and dorsal root ganglia tissue. Often, the goal is to show co-expression of two or more genes and calculate percentages of overlap.

We do this by hand at the moment using Photoshop or a Matlab script we made. I know people like imageJ too, but either way, it requires manual drawing of ROIs.

it’d be great to have a tool to automatically detect cells, and determine the coexpression of different channels within the same cell.

As an example image:
11 PM

I would love if Cell Profiler could find out the co-expression in panel D.

I realize neuronal cell boundaries are difficult to determine, even for humans, but I would even be happy if we conservatively drew the boundaries around nuclei (DAPI) and did coexpression that way.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Lovely assay! Can you please post some raw images of the three channels?

And clarify the goal: I assume DNA = blue and the two stains of interest are pink and white?

It’d be also nice to understand what you mean by neuronal cell boundaries. Maybe it’s the contrast of the images, but I see very textured nuclei, I’m not sure what stain if any indicates the borders of the neurons?

Hi @Anne_Carpenter

Thank you so much for your response and for leading this project. Cell Profiler looks very powerful and hope to use it more for neuroscience microscopy.

And clarify the goal: I assume DNA = blue and the two stains of interest are pink and white?